News in Wellesley!

This last week has been crazy with news in Wellesley. Last week there was the armed bank robbery/bomb scare. On Saturday, Babson College, located in Wellesley, closed down due to an outbreak of the norovirus. Finally, a Wellesley woman was arrested earlier this week for allegedly striking a police officer at the airport. 

breaking-newsIt’s been so great covering all these events. There’s a little bit of everything thrown in there- crime, health, some more crime/oddball news. There also a small dash of town politics thrown into the mix since the Wellesley woman was on the School Committee in the 90s.

One of the most interesting things is seeing how others report on the same stories as I do. Before the Globe started their Your Town Wellesley, I was used to basically being the only person who wrote about Wellesley. Now I can compare what I write with the Boston Herald, the Globe, WBZ and more. 

Makes me think that back before journalism was slowly having the life dragged out of it by the internet, reporting must have been so different. There really was competition between different papers. Now, we’re all trying to not sink together.

I do find it odd that at least two cameramen have seen me using my point and shoot and told me I was ruining their jobs. Maybe they are thinking the point and shoot erases a need for them? Or that I can get it up faster than they can? All I know is I have this tiny camera and they have huge, expensive, real machines. 

How can they think I am out to ruin them? I am simply trying to survive as a print journalist. In order to do that, I have to use the tools available to me.

Image from flickr.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun, GateHouse related, Newspapers in general

Leave a Reply

