To master’s or not to master’s

I really enjoy new media. It’s one of my favorite parts of my job. When I make a video or have people comment on a story or blog post, I get excited!

It definitely seems like new media is the way of the future — not just for news, but for all websites and companies. Most companies have blogs and Twitter accounts and make videos.  I really want to get in on that.

This brings me to graduate school. There are two ways to learn new media: One is simply by working with it. That is arguably the best way to learn it. What’s a better teacher than actually making the video or the blog post?

The second way is to go to grad school. When I read about the new media classes at Columbia or Berkeley, I get all tingly.

But there are not a ton of jobs, grad school is very expensive and there’s basically no guarantee of having a sucessful career. (Take another look at what how these Columbia Journalism School Class of 2009 grads are saying.)

So, what do you think? Yay or nay to grad school?

1 Comment

Filed under J-schools

One response to “To master’s or not to master’s

  1. Pingback: Someone asked ‘Ask the Recruiter’ my master’s question « Staff Writer

Leave a Reply

