What the heck is Kohort? (And why do I care?)

A few days ago, someone I follow on Twitter (@shontelaylay) tweeted she had reserved her username on Kohort. What is Kohort, you ask? I don’t have a clue. That certainly didn’t stop me from immediately clicking on the included link and reserving my own username.

It remains a mystery what Kohort is. A Google search revealed it’s a start up that has $3 million in seed money. The phrase “It’s a new frontier” is splashed across the login page. (Star Trek anyone?) In a recent TechCrunch article, CEO Mark Davis also remains coy, only admitting that the product will be related to social media.  The Business Insider recently lauded the company for launching in “stealth” mode.

Ok, so the stealth mode is working. I want to know what Kohort is and what I’ve signed up for. And that’s what will keep me coming back. It is a great marketing strategy but there’s also the real chance it will backfire. The company has to make sure their product will continue to intrigue users, even once the mystery is gone. So let’s hope they do. I know I can’t wait to see what it is. Have you heard anything?

2 Comments

Filed under Careers, New ideas, Twitter

2 responses to “What the heck is Kohort? (And why do I care?)

  1. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised about Kohort. We’ve been working really hard to make it all that it can be. You’ll know what it is soon, I promise 😉

  2. All i Know so far is that its gonna be a social networking site

Leave a Reply

